13 November 2018 | Tennis ACT

The strength of tennis in the ACT has been highlighted with award nominations at the 2018 Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards and the CBR Sport Awards.

Tennis Australia announced the finalists for the Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards on Monday, with Dylan Alcott, Ashleigh Barty, and Alex de Minaur, and John Millman nominated for the top award, more details.

The ACT has two finalists at the event on Monday 26 November, with the Apis Canberra International for Most Outstanding Professional Tournament and Annerly Poulos nominated for Female Junior Athlete of the Year.

Both have also been named as finalist in the CBR Sports Awards with tennis in the running for five different awards.  The CBR Sports awards celebrate the outstanding achievement of Canberra’s top athletes and teams, along with innovative and inclusive practices within the community and outstanding event management.

Apis Canberra International is up for the Ministers Awards in Event Excellence, while Poulos is one of five finalists in the new category of rising star.  Nick Kyrgios has again been named a finalist for Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport, with North Woden Tennis Club highlighted in the Ministers Award for Inclusion for their wheelchair tennis program.  Book a court has also been listed as finalist for the Minister’s Award for Innovation.

The CBR Sports awards will be held on Friday 30 November at the National Arboretum with tickets on sale until Wednesday 14 November.