12 September 2017 | Tennis ACT

ACT tennis legends Alison Ide and Ros Balodis have been inducted into the Tennis ACT Walk of Fame on Saturday 9 September at the Tennis ACT Awards. 

Established in 2016, the Tennis ACT Walk of Fame honours those whose exceptional contribution has brought recognition and esteem to them and to tennis in the Australian Capital Territory. Balodis and Ide become the first female Walk of Fame inductees, joining Keith Carnall, Ken Willis, and Wally Masur.

 As an administrator, Ide volunteered countless hours through various roles including Secretary of the Ladies Auxillary, Secretary of ACT Tennis Association, President of Tennis Seniors ACT, and numerous positions for Tennis Seniors Australia.  She was a top flight player in the ACT winning the residents championships, and went on to represent Australia at the World Championships from 1984 to 2006.  Ide passed away in 2009.

Balodis boasts an extraordinary playing record, holding an unbeaten record of 18 titles at the Tennis Seniors Australia Championships, dating back to 1998.  Internationally, she has won seven singles and eleven doubles titles at the World Individual Championships. She has been part of the Tennis Senior’s Australia selection committee for 5 years, and the Tennis Seniors ACT selection committee for 10 years.

 Tennis ACT CEO, Kim Kachel, said the accolades are a fitting acknowledgement of the outstanding contribution Ide and Balodis have made to the tennis community.

“Alison was instrumental in the development of women’s tennis in the ACT and a real trailblazer,” he said. “She provided so much to the tennis community as both a player and administrator. Ros’ playing record is simply unbelievable, both domestically and internationally. They have both been outstanding ambassadors for our sport in the ACT, and in particular for women’s tennis, paving the way for future generations.

Thirteen additional awards were presented on the night, with Melba Tennis Club being named Most Outstanding Club for the third straight year.  Peter Breugelmans was honoured for 40 years of service to the tennis community, receiving the Volunteer Achievement Award, while Frank Calabria received the award for Club Coaching Excellence.

Kachel continued “The Tennis ACT Awards are a chance to honour our local tennis industry and our local community. We gather to acknowledge people that work incredibly hard to make our sport great, our volunteers, our coaches, our officials, our players and our clubs.”

As well as being honoured, a number of categories received bonus prizes courtesy of ANZ, under a new partnership with Tennis ACT.

Peter Breugelmans received the surprise of the night, after receiving the Volunteer Achievement Award and a bonus prize package to attend Australian Open 2018 including tickets, return flights and accommodation thanks to ANZ. A valued committee member at Turner Tennis Club since the 1970’s, along with Treasurer of Tennis Seniors ACT, Peter has been involved in all facets of the sport across the ACT.

Most Outstanding Club, Melba Tennis Club, was recognised for a third consecutive year due to their inviting culture and diverse local community approach. They have implemented all national tennis programs and increased competitive opportunities for players. The successful club are set to receive an ANZ Tennis Hot Shots signage pack for their purpose built courts as part of their recognition.

Frank Calabria provides quality local coaching programs and is actively involved in growing the game, via both club and facility management and in developing program structures. Frank has established a strong relationship with North Woden Tennis Club and is connected with several local schools.  Calabria will also receive an ANZ Tennis Hot Shots signage pack for the club.

Giralang Primary School took out the around for Most Outstanding School and will receive a player experience during the 2017 Apis Canberra International.

Click here to view photos from the Tennis ACT Awards

2017 Tennis ACT Award winners
Walk of Fame Inductee 2017 Alison Ide
Walk of Fame Inductee 2017 Ros Balodis
Coaching Excellence – High Performance Todd Larkham
Coaching Excellence – Talent Development Nathan Price
Coaching Excellence – Club Frank Calabria
Excellence in Officiating Emma Walter
Most Outstanding Tennis Senior 35+ Ros Balodis
Most Outstanding School Giralang Primary School
Junior Club Player of the Year Guy Sancataldo
Adult Club Player of the Year Daniel Green
Junior Athlete of the Year – Female Annerly Poulos
Junior Athlete of the Year – Male Jamieson Nathan
ACT Player of the Year Nick Kyrgios
Volunteer Achievement Award Peter Breugelmans
Most Outstanding Tennis Club Melba Tennis Club