Hobart, Tasmania, 27 February 2019 | Tennis Tasmania

The Tasmanian team for the 2019 Pizzey Cup has been named.

The Pizzey Cup is an annual event for the best 18 and under students from each state. The inaugural event was held in 1963 and is named after former Queensland Premier Jack Pizzey. Past competitors include Pat Rafter, Sam Stosur and Casey Dellacqua.

South Australia hosts the 2019 edition, played from 4-12 May in Adelaide.

The Tasmanian team includes Sam Edgar, who was named in the All-Australian team after his performance at the 2018 edition.

Tasmania Pizzey Cup team 2019
Boys Girls
Ruben McCormack Charlotte Ingram
Sam Edgar Arnaka Bourn
Sam Whitehead Claudia Barnes
Casey Ambler Rebecca Flinn
Thomas Hann Felicity Radcliff
Ben Fergusson Hannah Sheers
Oliver Hadley Anamanu Vaka
Jake Elmer Olivia McHugh

Tasmania’s National Academy Head Coach Simon Youl and David Dickson will accompany the team as coaches, with Katherine Kelly filling the team manager role.

“We have a great group of players that will represent Tasmania proudly with both their attitude and effort,” said Youl, who represent Tasmania in the event when he was a junior player.