Tennis Tasmania Awards

Star-fireworksTennis Tasmania is pleased to present the inaugural awards for outstanding performance and support in tennis; excellence in coaching; and tennis athletes of the year.

Nominations for 2016 closed on 9 September and we are delighted to announce the WINNERS in each category. Congratulations to all the Award Winners and thank-you to all who nominated.


Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament
WINNER – Glenorchy Open 2015

The Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament is selected from an Australian Money Tournament or Optus Junior Tour event. These events are the stepping stones for players to develop their games. The Glenorchy Open offered a complete package of on- and off-court activities and player amenities to a high standard, allowing for a positive tournament atmosphere, and implemented strategies to engage local sponsors, media attention and community involvement.

Selection Criteria, Most Outstanding AR Tournament

Most Outstanding Club
WINNER – Sunshine Tennis Club

Tennis clubs provide facilities and programs to the community that get people playing tennis. This award recognises that Sunshine Tennis Club has an inviting culture, is accessible to the public, has implemented Tennis Australia programs and have increased competitive opportunities for players.

Selection Criteria, Most Outstanding Club

Coaching Excellence – ANZ Hot Shots
WINNER – Tony Blom

ANZ Tennis Hot Shots coaches offer a program that includes a developmental pathway with red, orange and green progressive stages, a “learning through play philosophy” and use of modified equipment. This award acknowledges the important work Tony does to grow the game and introduce more kids to tennis.

Selection Criteria, Coaching Excellence-Hot Shots Coach

Excellence in Officiating
WINNER – Sam Gleeson (Devonport Tennis Club)

Officials play an important role in tennis, and set the standards at tournaments of all levels. Sam has provided an outstanding contribution to tennis officiating in Australia through dedication, skill, attitude and knowledge. His performance set him apart from his peers and he has been a positive role model for other tennis officials.

Selection Criteria, Excellence in Officiating

Junior Athlete of the Year
Female WINNER – Jess Fowler (Lindisfarne Memorial Tennis Club)
Male WINNER – Ben Barnett (Launceston Regional Tennis Centre

Jess and Ben have achieved greatness throughout the year in their respective category and are recognised and congratulated by friends, family, and the tennis community.

Selection Criteria, Junior Athlete of the Year

Volunteer Achievement Award
WINNER – Ollie Wuttke (Glenorchy City Tennis Club)

The volunteer often goes unrewarded for the many hours of work they contribute to tennis. This award honours the volunteers within tennis who foster relationships within and between their club and the community, and recognises the contribution they make to the sport.

Selection Criteria, Volunteer Achievement