17 November 2017 | Tennis NT

Tennis NTs Awards Night was held on Saturday 11 November. This is the night which celebrates the many achievements of those involved In the sport of Tennis both on at off the court.


As always, Club of the Year is the most coveted Award of the night. This award focuses on the achievements and progress of affiliated clubs in line with Tennis NT’s Strategic Direction. Taking it out for the first time in the sixteen year history of the award Tennis NT is proud to announce the recipients of this year’s highly contested Club of the Year award were Tennis Palmerston.


The Austin Asche Trophy is the pinnacle of the Junior Awards on the night. This award recognises performance against Interstate/International Competitors; sportsmanship; contribution to Tennis in the Northern Territory and attitude on and off the court. The 2017 Austin Asche recipient embodied all that the NT looks for in our Junior Athletes. He achieved not just great tournament results within interstate competition, but his outstanding sportsmanship and on court demeanor make him an ideal role model for aspiring Territory players. As an outstanding member of our tennis community, Tennis NT was delighted to announce Kenneth Prete as the very worthy winner of the 2017 Austin Ashe Trophy.


The Northern Territory will also have one finalist at the 2017 Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards.  As winner of his local Club Volunteer Award, along with the over-arching Volunteer Achievement Award from Tennis NT, Charles Webb from the DTA has been named as finalists for the Volunteer Achievement Awards at The Newcombe Medal, Australian Tennis Awards, which takes place on Monday 27 November.


For a full list of Award Winners, click here