13 April 2018 | Tennis NT

Mark Motlop and Anya Lorimer have been appointed as Directors to the Tennis NT Board.


Motlop, a name synonymous with Australian sport, is a well-respected Indigenous figure who joins Tennis NT with a strong sporting background and passion for Indigenous affairs.


He has previously held roles with the NT Government Department of Business, the Northern Territory Indigenous Affairs Advisory council, AFL NT, YWCA and the Juvenile Justice Diversionary Program and currently holds the position of Chairman of the Larrakia Development Corporation.


“I’m looking forward to working with the Tennis NT team and helping to further grow their Indigenous tennis program,” Motlop said.


“The Territory has a proud sporting history and I’m eager to help broaden the engagement of tennis – one of the most inclusive and diverse sports.”


Lorimer, a leading local businesswoman brings with her a wealth of knowledge as the sole director of Sprout Creative, the NT’s largest creative design agency, and more than 21 years of industry experience.


“I’m honoured to be appointed as a Director to the Tennis NT Board,” Lorimer said.


“The new development at the Marrara sporting complex is a huge positive for tennis.


“Sport in the NT is expanding and it’s a great time for tennis to capitalise on this growth to help build participation and expand the game so many people can continue to love and play the game at all levels.


“I’m looking forward to working with the local team to help promote and engage the wider NT community with tennis.”


Tennis NT CEO Sam Gibson believes the appointment of Mark and Anya will bring a fresh outlook.


“Tennis in the NT is currently undergoing some big changes and 2018 is a very exciting year for us,” Gibson said.


“Tennis NT are thrilled to welcome Mark and Anya and their expertise, especially during this growth period.”


The Tennis NT board now consists of seven members who all bring a vast range of skills and experience.



President – David De Silva

Vice-President – Kate Lee

Director – Matthew Campbell

Director – Alicia Boyle

Director – Charles Burkitt

Director – Anya Lorimer

Director – Mark Motlop