

# **Tennis West Special General Meeting**

# Minutes Tuesday 27 July 2021

**Meeting:** Tennis West Special General Meeting

**Date & Time:** Tuesday 27 July 2021

Meeting opened at 6:30pm

**Venue:** Mineral Resources Park, Lathlain

**Present -** Bayswater Tennis Club – Suzanne Kingston

**Voting Delegates:** Bullcreek Tennis Club – Paul Brewer

City Beach Tennis Club – Barbara Worner Corinthian Park Tennis Club – Denzil Morrell Cottesloe Tennis Club – Anne Williams Dalkeith Tennis Club – Annette Livesey

East Fremantle Lawn Tennis Club – William Bell (ALTERNATIVE)

Hensman Park Tennis Club – Colin Napier Higgins Park Tennis Club – Mathew Bates

Kardinya Tennis Club – Marco Camer-Pesci (ALTERNATIVE)

Leederville Tennis Club – Wendy Ireland Lesmurdie Tennis Club – John Daff Loton Park Tennis Club – Paul McAnelly

Lower Great Southern Tennis Association – Simonne Ventouras (PROXY)

Maylands Tennis Club – Stephen Fee (ALTERNATIVE)

Midland Lawn Tennis Club – John Ferguson

Mt Lawley Tennis Club – Les Emery Nedlands Tennis Club – Janet Ferreira North Perth Tennis Club – Lyall Bear

North Shore Country Club and Residents Association – Larry Hirsch

Onslow Park Tennis Club – James Edwards

Peppermint Grove Tennis Club – Pamela Cresswell

Scarbrough Tennis Club – Angus MacMillan

Sorrento Tennis Club – John Genovese (ALTERNATIVE) South Perth Tennis Club – Wayne Mortimer (ALTERNATIVE)

Tennis Seniors – Aldis Purins (ALTERNATIVE) UWA Tennis Club – Tony Cunningham

Wembley Downs Tennis Club – Janet Patterson

**Attendance -** Bayswater Tennis Club – Caris Fowke **Non-voting members:** Bayswater Tennis Club – T. Paraszczyn

Blue Gum Park Tennis Club – Pauline Foster Blue Gum Park Tennis Club – Dawn Goodreid Corinthian Park Tennis Club – Stuart Ovenden

Cottesloe Tennis Club – Amy Oen



East Fremantle Lawn Tennis Club – Paul Hemsley Hensman Park Tennis Club – Graeme Rundle

Kingsley Tennis Club – Rou Jof

Leederville Tennis Club – Matt Young

Loton Park Tennis Club – Michael Lee

Mt Lawley Tennis Club – Joanne Smith

Mt Lawley Tennis Club – Karen Jessop

North Shore Country Club and Residents Association – Jason Weir

Onslow Park Tennis Club – Sri Adiyanti

Life member – Ray Collins

## **Tennis West staff** and guests:

Meg Allen Olivia Birkett Ardian Fazuli Paul Gates Loretta Hughes Katie Illich Emilie Jones Rob Kennedy

Michelle Magdy Deanne Maloney Carina McMillian

Charlotte King

Sophia Nimphius (guest)

Brett Patten Craig Vinci

### **BOARD MEMBERS**

Jan Truscott (President) Rod Van (Vice-president)

Pamela Cresswell (Board Director) Tony Cunningham (Board Director) Gwyn Dolphin (Board Director) Colin Napier (Board Director) Jo Quinn (Board Director)

**Apologies:** Central Districts Tennis Association

> Daglish Tennis Club Forrestfield Tennis Club Wanneroo Tennis Club

Bill Price Wayne Firns Michael Lee



#### 1. Meeting Opening

6.44pm: President Jan Truscott (JT) opened the meeting and welcomed all. JT confirmed the attendance of more than 25 voting delegates as a quorum and noted apologies.

#### 2. Confirmation of proxies and alternate delegates

### Proxy received from:

Lower Great Southern Tennis Association – Simonne Ventouras (PROXY)

#### Alternate delegates from:

East Fremantle Lawn Tennis Club – William Bell (ALTERNATIVE) Kardinya Tennis Club – Marco Camer-Pesci (ALTERNATIVE) Maylands Tennis Club – Stephen Fee (ALTERNATIVE) Sorrento Tennis Club – John Genovese (ALTERNATIVE) South Perth Tennis Club – Wayne Mortimer (ALTERNATIVE) Tennis Seniors – Aldis Purins (ALTERNATIVE)

# 3. Special business – constitution amendments

Jo Quinn and Jan Truscott outlined the rationale and history behind each of the proposed constitution amendments. Members were afforded the opportunity to ask questions and seek clarification before voting.

Voting for constitution change at a General Meeting requires three quarter majority.

**Motion 1** "That those marked up Constitutional amendments as set out in the attached marked up Constitution, to facilitate online nomination and voting for Tennis West Board Directors, and provide for virtual attendance at General Meetings, be accepted and approved."

**Proposed:** Mt Lawley Tennis Club – Les Emery

**Seconded:** Onslow Park Tennis Club – James Edwards

Votes for: 25 Motion passed.

**MOTION 2:** "That those marked up Constitutional amendments as set out in the attached marked up Constitution, to provide further requirements of Board Directors to support the ongoing good governance of the association, be accepted and approved."

**Proposed:** Leederville Tennis Club – Wendy Ireland

**Seconded:** Wembley Downs Tennis Club – Janet Patterson

Votes for: 25 Motion passed.

**MOTION 3:** "That those marked up Constitutional amendments as set out in the attached marked up Constitution, to provide Member vote allocations based on the number of playing club members to the affiliate body, be accepted and approved."

**Proposed:** North Shore Country Club and Residents Association – Larry Hirsch

Seconded: Sorrento Tennis Club - John Genovese

Votes for: 23 Motion passed.



**MOTION 4:** "That those marked up Constitutional amendments as set out in the attached marked up Constitution, to ensure that the collection of tennis data as it relates to the affiliation renewal process, is in line with current best practice, be accepted and approved."

**Proposed:** Maylands Tennis Club - Stephen Fee

**Seconded:** Corinthian Park Tennis Club – Denzil Morrell

Votes for: 25 Motion passed.

JT thanked all those present for their questions and commented that the tennis community was very engaged in the process.

## 4. Other business

Colin Napier outlined changes to the Competition and League sub-committee and its charter. An Expression of Interest form was circulated and members encouraged to nominate to be part of the new iteration of the sub-committee, in line with Tennis West strategic direction.

5. Meeting Finalisation		
Meeting closed 7:45pm		
Signed as a true and accurate record of the meeting:		
Name	Signature	Date