Victorian Tennis Awards

The Victorian Tennis Awards recognise Victoria’s various on and off court success into one big community tennis celebration. These awards align with the national Newcombe Medal / Australian Tennis Awards. To be eligible to nominate for an Australian Tennis Award, nominees must have won the relevant Victorian Tennis Award to be nominated.


  • The award period is 1 August 2018 – 31 July 2019.
  • Nominations Open – Monday 22 July 2019
  • Nominations Close – 12pm on Tuesday 13 August 2019
  • All finalists will be notified in writing on Tuesday 3 September 2019
  • Awards will be presented at the Tennis Victoria Champions Dinner on Friday 18 October 2019.
Most Outstanding Club or Centre Nomination form Entries Closed
Volunteer Achievement Nomination form Entries Closed
Coaching Excellence – Club or Centre Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding School Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding Tournament Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding Inclusion Initiative Nomination form Entries Closed
Junior Athlete of the Year – Male and Female Criteria form Finalists decided by TA/TV
Supporting Tennis – Local Government Achievement Nomination form Entries Closed
Most Outstanding Competition Nomination form Entries Closed
Excellence in Officiating Nomination form Entries Closed

For more information on 2019 Victorian Tennis Awards please email [email protected]. All nominations for the Victorian Tennis Awards are to be submitted online.


Only information provided in the nomination forms and the supporting information attached to the submission will be considered by the selection panel.  For relevant supporting information to be considered, proposers must submit this information via the online process. A maximum of four (4) attachments may be submitted including the entry form. One must be a high resolution photo of the nominee.

Tennis Victoria reserves the right to submit nominations for each award category.

All decisions in relation to the 2019 Victorian Tennis Awards (including any questions in relation to eligibility) will be determined by the selection panel in its absolute discretion.  All decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Voting Process 

Multiple nominations for each of the annual Victorian Tennis Awards’ categories are received each year.

The voting and decision-making process to establish eventual finalists, and the final winners, is then conducted by broad panels comprising honorary and paid administrators of Tennis Victoria and Tennis Australia, officials of other representative tennis bodies such as Tennis Coaches Australia – Victoria and Tennis Seniors Victoria, and various Victorian sporting industry representatives from the likes of Sport and Recreation Victoria (State Government), VicHealth, Vicsport, Disability Sport Victoria and possibly other industry bodies relative to categories.

This nomination and selection process applies to all annual Awards except for the Victorian Spirit of Tennis award which is decided by the Tennis Victoria Board of Directors.

Requirements of award recipients
Successful recipients may be required to participate in marketing and promotional activities in the 12 months following the award.

Where appropriate, all award winners will be nominated for the national equivalent award to be presented at the 2019 Newcombe Medal.


Finalists of the Most Outstanding Club or Centre award and Coaching Excellence award will be required to assist in the filming of a short video clip to be shown at the Tennis Victoria Champions Dinner. The finalists are encouraged to have the club/centre in an active environment with key members of the committee/management and coaching team available to speak. Some examples of previous winners of this award are Mt Eliza Tennis Club and Boroondara Tennis Centre and West Lalor Tennis Club.