Bruce Cup

The Bruce Cup is a prestigious annual national primary school teams event. It has been played since 1938 and was first presented by the Hon HA Bruce, MLA, a former Minister of Education in Queensland. Many players who have won Wimbledon and become the finest players in the world played their first representative matches for their state in the Bruce Cup. Rod Laver, arguably one of the greatest tennis players ever, represented Queensland in the Bruce Cup. Pat Rafter, Todd Woodbridge, Mark Philippoussis and Wally Masur all represented their state in the Bruce Cup.


The Bruce Cup is conducted by School Sport Australia (SSA) in partnership with Tennis Australia. Tennis Tasmania runs and coordinates both the state trials and the national event for the Tasmanian Bruce Cup team.

2018 Bruce Cup Team

Jack Akl, George Anderson, Lachlan Browne, Ava Curtis, Alicia Dale, Mia Healy, Edison Lee, Alex Martin, Brooke Miller, Annabelle Radcliff, Callum Wherrett, Olivia Wilkinson, Summer Wilkinson, Campbell Young
Coaches: Alyssa Hibberd, Trent Constance
Team manager: Caroline Wegner

Visit School Sport Australia for more information on their tennis competitions.