PO Box 277 MOONAH TAS 7009



Newsletter - July 2016



<u>Note change of date</u>

The Committee has changed the date of the Club's Annual General Meeting to **Sunday 14 August 2016** (previously scheduled for Sunday 7 August) at **3.00pm at the Domain Tennis Centre**.

Accompany this newsletter are:

- a formal notice of the AGM / nomination form for the 2016-17 Management Committee (note: Committee members will <u>receive free Club membership</u>)
- AGM agenda

Club members are also invited to participate in social tennis from 1.00 – 3.00pm prior to the AGM.



As advised in the May newsletter, the Committee recognises that members have not been able to enjoy the full benefits of Club membership this year. To help compensate, the 2015-16 membership period will be extended until 31 August 2016.

The Committee has proposed that membership fees will be reduced to 50% of current levels for the next membership year, which will be from 1 September 2016 to 31 August 2017. New members will pay a one-off joining fee of \$25. The proposed fees will require endorsement at the Annual General Meeting on 14 August. The new fee recognises the reduced operating costs of the Club without a facility to maintain, while providing sufficient income to allow arrangements with the Domain to continue well into the future.

Membership forms will be made available shortly after the AGM.



SOCIAL TENNIS

The Club has arranged for a social tennis evening for members from 7.00 – 9.30pm on Wednesday 3 August at the Domain. All members and their guests (\$5 visitor fee) are welcome.

One lucky participant present at the draw will win a free Club membership for 2016-17.

There is also the opportunity for social tennis on Sundays if members are interested. Please advise Sandra Halliwell.



A reminder that we have made arrangements with the <u>Domain Tennis Centre</u> to hire their courts for use by Club members. Costs will be covered by Club funds.

There is a 3 month trial period which commenced on 1 June, with the expectation that it will become a longer-term arrangement.

We have modified the court hire times are based on groups' usage over the past 6 weeks.

Details are as follows:

Available courts:courts 14, 15 and 17 (artificial grass on Aberdeen Street side; courts are numbered)Times:Tues:9.00am - noon3.00 - 6.00pm

Thurs: 9.00am - noon 3.30 – 6.00pm

Simply turn up with your group and start playing!

Once the Domain's online booking system is in place, individuals will be able to book court times, again with costs covered by the Club.

Non-members playing with Club members are to pay a \$5 fee to the Club, and ball fees will continue at \$2. Group captains are keep records of court usage and collect fees.

Information about the Domain Tennis Centre:

- Address and entry is Davies Avenue, Hobart
- Free and paid parking is available nearby on-site, and Davies Avenue and Aberdeen Street. Make sure you check signs for any parking restrictions.

Contacts: ph: 6234 4805 or email: manager@domaintennis.com.au

AYC Pennant

Players wishing to play in the AYC pennant commencing in September should advise Ros Williams as soon as possible, as teams need to be finalised and submitted by 12 August.

AYC Championships 2016/17

The Championships are on again. Details are:

Mixed Doubles – Tuesday 6th Sept – venue: Glenorchy

Men's Doubles - Thursday 8th Sept - venue: Glenorchy

Ladies Doubles – Thursday 8th Sept – venue: Rosny

- Games are played on a handicap system based on current AYC Grading.
- Night begins at 7.00pm
- Refreshments available at clubs
- Please have names into AYC Committee by Sunday 28 August.



KEY RETURN

Members who still hold keys from our former Amy Street premises should return them as soon as possible to the Treasurer Ros Williams.

Did you know the Club has a Facebook page (<u>www.facebook.com/StTheresesTennisClub</u>)? Visit the page for information on the Club's activities.

We also have a website (www.tennis.com.au/sttc) where you'll find useful information and documents, such as newsletters and our current Constitution.

St Therese's Tennis Club Management Committee 2015-16			
President:	Paul Kitchener	Vice-President:	Fay Ibbott
Hon Treasurer:	Ros Williams	Hon Secretary:	Mark Green
Committee:	John Brereton	Steve Psaila	Steve Horne
	Di Horne	Sandra Halliwell	Maureen Ball