Strathalbyn Tennis Club

Strathalbyn Junior Age Tournament

17 October 2013 |

The Strathalbyn Tennis Club Inc has held its Junior Age Tournament every year for the last 34 years. This year the Club ran a Tennis SA Sanctioned Junior Development Series and a Junior Tour White Series National Points Tournament over three days from 28 to 30 September 2013.

Players and family members came from all parts of South Australia, as well as entries from New South Wales and Victoria.  94 competitors played 176 matches and we were fortunate to be able to use the additional John Wesley courts at the Oval on the first day. Once again the standard of tennis was very good and played in a sportsman like manner.

The weather was cool and overcast for the start of the tournament on Saturday, but improved to be a perfect day on Sunday, but unfortunately became a testing day on Monday for the completion of the finals.

The Strathalbyn Tennis Club would like to take this opportunity to thank all the sponsors as listed, for without their support we could not have held such a successful tournament: The Alexandrina Council, Victoria Hotel, Strath Motel, IGA Strathalbyn, Lake Breeze Wines, Strathalbyn Medical Centre, Glyn Morris, Strathalbyn Pharmacies, Coopers, Central Sports, L J Hooker, Maidments Meat, KTA General Insurance, Bleasdale Wines, The Southern Argus and the National Bank.

The Club would also like to thank the Tournament Referee Stuart Nancarrow and his team of Court Supervisors, Angus Thomson for his invaluable support and the Club’s many hard working volunteers for the running of this successful tournament.

Winner, runner up and consolation trophies were presented to all the successful players. Details of all the matches are available on the Tennis SA website

Please note our Easter Tournament is on again from Saturday 19 April to Monday 21 April 2014.    

2013 Strathalbyn Junior Age Tournament Results

Boy’s 10 Singles

  • Winner            Kai Tucker
  • Runner-up       Zac Horbelt
  • Consolation     Gavin Zhang

Boy’s 10 Doubles      

  • Winners           Zac Horbelt & William Taylor
  • Runners-up      Oscar Wang & Gavin Zhang

Boy’s 12 Singles  

  • Winner               David Wang
  • Runner-up       Josh Mcphee
  • Consolation     Will Layton

Boy’s 12 Doubles   

  • Winners           George Carey & David Wang
  • Runners-up    Josh Mcphee & Terry Karahalios

Boy’s 14 Singles   

  • Winner               David Fry
  • Runner-up       Josh Laka
  • Consolation     Alex Endenburg

Boy’s 14 Doubles    

  • Winner                Alex Endenburg & David Fry
  • Runners-up      Alexander Bastiras & Dale Nixon

 Boy’s 16 Singles     

  • Winner              Patrick Luke
  • Runner-up       Nathan Ryle
  •  Consolation    Connor Burley

Boy’s 16 Doubles  

  • Winners           Stephen Dawson & Nathan Ryle

Girl’s 10 Singles    

  • Winner               Tara Moran
  • Runner-up       Georgia Bagley
  • Consolation     Abbey Mcphee

Girl’s 10 Doubles  

  • Winners             Tara Moran & Georgia Bagley
  • Runners-up      Montarnah Bird & Abbey Mcphee

Girl’s 12 Singles    

  • Winner             Jieyi Chen
  • Runner-up      Alana Repanich
  • Consolation   Millie Pearce

Girl’s 12 Doubles  

  • Winners           Jieyi Chen & Alana Repanich
  • Runners-up    Maggie Pearce & Millie Pearce

Girl’s 14 Singles     

  • Winner            Vanessa Cozamanis
  • Runner-up      Chloe Purkiss
  •  Consolation   Sophia Fry

Girl’s 14 Doubles     

  • Winners           Vanessa Cosamanis & Kiara Papasian

Girl’s 14 Singles

  • Winner             Vanessa Cozamanis
  • Runner-up       Chloe Purkiss
  • Consolation     Sophia Fry

Girl’s 14 Doubles   

  • Winners           Vanessa Cosamanis & Kiara Papasian

Boy’s 16 Doubles      

  • Winners           Stephen Dawson & Nathan Ryle

Girl’s 10 Singles

  • Winner              Tara Moran
  • Runner-up       Georgia Bagley
  • Consolation     Abbey Mcphee