TENNIS SA

Minutes of the Annual Election Meeting of the Council of Tennis SA Inc. held Monday, 20 May 2019 at Millswood Tennis Complex, commencing at 7:30pm.

The President, Kent Thiele opened the meeting and called for apologies.

PRESENT: Kent Thiele, (President, Tennis SA)

DELEGATES: Ian Barry (Hills), Grant Morgan (SDTA), Darren Wunderer (WDTA), Gary Stratford

(EDTA), Carolyn Corkindale (MLTA), Gordon Armstrong (GDTA), Joanna Lydeamore (WMGTA), Neville Guthberlet (Life Member and proxy for Port Pirie TA, Port Lincoln TA, NETA), Kerry Morrow (Tennis SA Board Member and proxy for Mid North TA, Riverland Lawn TA, Penola and Districts TA), Nat Morley (Tennis SA Board Member

and proxy for Greater Southern TA, Mt. Gambier TA)

IN ATTENDANCE: Steve Baldas (Tennis SA, CEO), Kerry Morrow (TSA Board), Philip Roberts (TSA

Board), John MacKenzie (TSA Board), Neville Messenger (TSA Board), Graham Smart (TSA Board), Nat Morley (TSA Board), Debbie Sterrey (TSA Board), Neville Guthberlet

(TSA Board), Ron Green (Life Member), John Daenke (Honorary Solicitor)

1. APOLOGIES: Joyce Buchan (NETA), Jason Todd (NETA), Roger Davey (GDTA), David Tilbrook (Pt

Pirie TA), Lauren Bolton (Pt Pirie TA), Julie Polkinghorne (Pt Lincoln TA), Margie Clapp (Greater Southern TA), Ashlea Dunn (Mt Gambier TA), John Pick (Riverland Lawn TA), Michael Nugent (mid North TA), Kerry Degaris (Penola and Districts TA), Alice Clark

(TSA Board)

In opening the meeting, the President welcomed all with a special welcome to Life Members. He also introduced the Board members to the delegates.

2. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

- As had been indicated on the agenda distributed with the papers for the meeting, the President announced that there had been four nominations for the position of Director (vacated by Neville Guthberlet). As per recent changes to the Tennis SA Constitution, this position was mandated to be filled by a woman. The four candidates were Joanne Lydeamore, Michelle Leyden, Liz Campbell, and Tania Adams.
- 2.2 The President informed those present that Philip Roberts and John Daenke would be acting as scrutineers for the elections.
- 2.3 Liz Campbell elected as new Tennis SA Director.
- 2.4 Following the election of the Female Director position, the President announced there were three nominations for the Director position (vacated by John Mackenzie). The three candidates were Joanne Lydeamore, Roger Sanderson and Gary Stratford.
- 2.5 The President informed those present that Philip Roberts and John Daenke would be acting as scrutineers for the elections.
- 2.6 Gary Stratford elected as new Tennis SA Director.

- 2.7 Kent Thiele thanked all nominees and thanked Neville Guthberlet and John Mackenzie on their many years of service.
- 2.8 Following the election of the Director position, the President announced there was one nomination for the position of President. This nomination was Kent Thiele. Therefore, Kent Thiele was re-elected unopposed.

3. AFFILIATION AND REGISTRATION FEES 2019/20

3.1 Kent Thiele informed the meeting that as in previous years the Board of Tennis SA had attempted to meet the request from Tennis SA Affiliates that affiliation fees be set at this meeting to assist Associations and Clubs with their own planning.

The Board proposed that the Affiliation fees for 2019/20 be not be increased.

3.2 The Board proposed that Council give approval to Tennis SA to send invoices directly to Associated Clubs with copies of invoices to be sent to their Affiliated Association.

A show of hands was conducted, and it was unanimously approved.

4. OTHER BUSINESS

- 4.1 Carolyn Corkindale asked for a status update on the new proposed redevelopment of Memorial Drive Centre Courts. Kent Thiele gave an overview of the status and the upcoming return of ATP and WTA tournaments scheduled for January 2020.
- 4.2 Ian Barry asked about where the next Country Carnival would be held. Steve Baldas said he would speak to Ty Allen and the Tennis SA tournament team and consult with Ian to ensure the event would be successful in 2021.

Meeting closed at 8.05pm.