Board Nominations

Do you have a genuine interest and passion for advancing the sport of tennis in SA?

Tennis SA is the governing body of Tennis in South Australia. Our central role is to ensure the commercial viability of tennis, oversee the development of grassroots programs, manage competitions and tournaments, and promote tennis at all levels.

Tennis SA is governed by a Board of nine Directors charged with the strategic development and growth of the sport for 55,000+ tennis participants and 276 affiliated tennis clubs/Associations/Centre’s/Schools in South Australia.

2018 is an exciting time to join the Board of Tennis SA and be part of team that shapes new policies, plans and systems needed to grow tennis participation and build on existing and new partnerships and continue South Australia’s long history of tennis success.

Nominations for the Tennis SA Board are now closed.  The nominations received will be considered be for the 21 May 2018 Election meeting

While we encourage anyone to nominate, Tennis SA is particularly keen to encourage more women to nominate. On 8 December 2016, the Premier’s South Australian Women in Sport Taskforce Action Plan was launched to assist sport in South Australia create environments where the contribution of women is valued, respected and encouraged.

Key aims of the plan include addressing the inequalities in participation, leadership and recognition of women in sport. One of the strategies identified to facilitate this positive change focuses on having the composition of state sporting organisations boards being a minimum of 40% women, 40% men and the remaining 20% being discretionary.

Desired Characteristics

Here are some of the characteristics we are looking for in a new Board member of Tennis SA.  It is important that the person nominated have at least one or two of these characteristics, but definitely not essential to have all of these:

  1. A passion for tennis in SA
  2. Ideas to grow our sport
  3. Experience working or leading diverse teams
  4. Understanding of how to manage risk
  5. An accounting or financial background
  6. An understanding of how Local, State or Federal Government works
  7. Strong business networks
  8. Experience working or volunteering within tennis

Tennis SA Board Charter

The Tennis SA Board Charter sets out roles and responsibilities of the Board of Directors of Tennis SA.

>Please download the Tennis SA Board Charter

Location and Time Commitment: The Board currently meets 11 times each year.   The majority of board meetings are held at Tennis SA, North Adelaide, on the third Monday of the month at 6pm.