# **Riverside News**

Volume 5 July 2017

https://www.facebook.com/riversidetc/
https://www.tennis.com.au/riversidetc/



# **Communities, Sport and Recreation Tasmania - Grant Update**

Contact Electrical have installed the new court lights which have really improved visibility for night time play. Thanks to the Tasmanian Government (Communities Sport and Recreation), Contact Electrical and club members Max Byrne and Owen Geale for their help and input prior to and during the installation process. The next task will be the replacement of the sand filled artificial grass surfaces on courts 3 and 4 and the cleaning and re-sanding of courts 1 and 2 – scheduled for mid-January 2018.





#### **Committee Nominations**

Nominations are now open for positions on the Committee of the Riverside Tennis Club. The term of office will commence following the 2017 Annual General Meeting. People elected will hold office for a one year term. All candidates must be a fully paid financial members of the Riverside Tennis Club. Nominations close with the President at 5.00pm on Monday 31 July 2017. Click on the link below to access the form on the Club website:

https://www.tennis.com.au/riversidetc/

# **Tennis Etiquette**

### This week's message:

#### **SCORING MADE EASY**

If you are serving, call the score out loudly and clearly. It will help to minimise disagreements.

# **Riverside 35+ National Rankings Tournament**

Our club will once again host a 35+ senior's tournament on the weekend of **10-11 September 2017**. In the past this event has been well supported by our club members and players from the South and North West. Why not keep this weekend free and enjoy some friendly competition on the Saturday followed by a social day on Sunday?

#### **Our Club Committee 2016-17**

President – Marty Howell
Vice President – Max Byrne
Treasurer – Linda de Water
Secretary – Judy Cole
Club Room Coordinator – Pauline Baker

Club Captain – Owen Geale Ladies Captain – Sandy McArthur Maintenance Officer – Max Byrne
Communications Officer – Rod Meldrum
General Committee Members
Roxy / Ben Holden
Lyn Garner
Chelsea Gay
Sonia Mitchell