Parkville Tennis Club

Club Centenary 2004

As we celebrated 100 years of great tennis at Parkville a wonderful afternoon was enjoyed by all who attended.

In the spirit of the day

Good fun

Much to celebrate

Jenni and lunch

All together

Just a few shots from the day

History of first 100 years for Parkville Tennis Club

Jennifer has produced a history of the club. Great reading.

Copies are available from the club for $10.

Contact a committee member for your copy. All proceeds will go to the club.

Some snippets:

Our first LTAV pennant was won by B grade ladies in 1928.

In 1924 UHS old pupils association held a performance of “The young person in pink” to support the club.

Opened in 1904 the first president was T. Lang.

The club opened at it’s present site on June 8th,1912. A commemorative booklet of Literary gems was published and was signed by the Prime Minister, Leader of the Opposition, Premier and Leader of the Opposition of Victoria, Lord Mayor and Councillors.

The initial courts were asphalt. The first porous courts were built in 1936.

In 1946 Mrs Mc Farlane donated a clock in honour of her son Reg who was killed in 1943. The  clock was replaced in the centenary year and the memorial board rehung.

In 1950 play was permitted until 10.45am on Sunday and not allowed to recommence until 12 noon.

The brick front fence was first erected in 1972. It lasted until 2003 when it collapsed in a wind storm.