STL Interdistrict

2020 Interdistrict Fact Sheet – Now Available


Interdistrict is one of the oldest tennis competitions in Australia, with the first competition between the Metropolitan District Tennis Associations being conducted in 1921.

Over the years many household names have represented their Associations in this competition, including John Bromwich, Dinny Pails, Adrian Quist, Lew Hoad, Ken Rosewall, Bill Bowrey, Kim Warwick, John Alexander, Phil Dent, Jan Lehane, Beryl Penrose, Evonne Goolagong, Diane Fromholtz and Lesley Turner – just to name a few.

Initially, only the 17 Metropolitan Associations participated in the competition. Over the years the competition has been expanded to include near Country Associations as well as some clubs and schools.

The age eligibility for this competition for Seniors, Juniors and Blackwell & Angus & Coote Cups is as at 30 September 2019. For example, a junior playing in the 12 years and under event must not turn 13 before 30 September. If the player turns 13 on 1 October or later in 2019, you are eligible to play in the 12/Under event.

How to enter: 

As a player, to get involved in Interdistrict, please contact your club or association.

Don’t forget to ‘Join Tennis’ by visiting and clicking ‘Join’ in the top right corner to create your profile. By joining Tennis you can link your player profile to your tennis account, access your match results, check out your National Rating and view your competition ladder within Match Centre.

The Interdistrict Competition consists of the following cups:

Blackwell Men’s Open Open (15 years and over)
Angus & Coote Ladies Open Open  (15 years and over)
Twyford-Jones Men’s 35 years & over Seniors
George Rider Men’s 35 years & over Seniors
Shea-Wilton Men’s 35 years & over Seniors
George Fletcher Men’s 35 years & over Seniors
Life Members Men’s 50 years & over Seniors
Jack McCall Ladies 35 years & over Seniors
Bill Austin Ladies 35 years & over Seniors
G G Tremlett Boys 18 years & under Junior
Harry Beck Girls 10 years & under Junior
D J Ryan Girls 18 years & under Junior
Presidents Boys 16 years & under Junior
Irene Matthews Girls 16 years & under Junior
Esca Stephens Boys 14 years & under Junior
Wade & Neale Girls 14 Years & under Junior
McAndrew Boys 12 years & under Junior
Stan Pedersen Boys 10 years & under Junior