Tennis NSW Awards

The NSW Tennis Awards recognise tennis clubs, organisations and individuals in the New South Wales tennis community. These awards align with the national Newcombe Medal / Australian Tennis Awards. To be eligible to be a nominee for the Australian Tennis Award, you must have won the Tennis NSW award in one of the categories.

Tennis NSW Awards Dinner

Tennis NSW is excited to announce that the Awards Dinner will return in 2018 and we would love you to join us for what will be a fantastic night of celebration for our tennis community.

This evening will be held at the Sydney Cricket Ground, the scene of the first NSW Championships held back in 1885. Enjoy a sit down dinner, including drinks and entertainment with NSW tennis legends in attendance.

22 x Grand Slam winner, Todd Woodbridge, will MC the night and tennis great Wally Masur will host a lively tennis discussion with several special guests.

Click here to book your spot at this years Awards Dinner. Download the booking form and return it via email to Tennis NSW.


Award Categories

Category Finalists
Female Junior Athlete of the Year
  • Gabriella Da Silva-Fick
  • Anastasia Berezov
  • Grace Schumacher
  • Ivana Popovic
Male Junior Athlete of the Year
  • Rinky Hijikata
  • Tom Evans
  • Nikita Volonski
  • Kamil Kozlowski
Most Outstanding Athlete with a Disability
  • Ben Weekes (Wheelchair)
  • Damian Philips (Intellectual)
  • Kelly Wren (Intellectual)
Most Outstanding 35+ Tennis Senior
  • Alan Walsh
  • James Leggatt
  • Mary Gordon
  • Brenda Foster
Coaching Excellence – High Performance
  • Jarrad Bunt
  • Ryan Slarks
  • Tony Polack
Coaching Excellence – Talent Development
  • Tony Polack
  • Phil Shanahan
  • Aaron Warwick
  • Ryan Slarks
Coaching Excellence – Club
  • Gemma Eaton (Coast Community Tennis – Murwillumbah)
  • Colin Maher (Young Tennis Club)
  • Michael Watts (Tennis Central)
George Fletcher Award

(Excellence in Officiating)

  • Glenn Toland
  • Ricardo Macedo
  • Hannah Ng
  • Dave Allen
Jim O’Neill Award

(Service to Tennis NSW Award)

Volunteer Achievement Award
  • Hedley Nicholson (Parkes Tennis Club)
  • Terry Stewart (NSTA)
  • Rachel Garrett (Casino)
  • Stephanie Edwards (Banora Tennis Club)
Most Outstanding Tennis Club – Country
  • Tennis Central
  • Uranquinty Tennis Club
  • Casino Town Tennis Club
  • Young Tennis Club
Most Outstanding Tennis Club – Metropolitan
  • City Community Tennis
  • Maccabi Tennis
  • Chatswood Tennis Club
  • Voyager Tennis Academy – North Manly
Most Outstanding Australian Ranking Tournament
  • 2018 North Shore Open – Platinum AMT (NSTA)
  • 2018 Margaret Court Cup – Gold JT/Silver AMT (Albury Tennis Association)
  • 2018 NSW Country Championships – Silver AMT/JT (Tennis Country)
  • 2018 South Pacific Open
Most Outstanding School
  • Broughton Anglican College
  • Eleebana Public School
  • St Patrick’s Primary School – Albury
  • St Catherine’s Catholic College
Supporting Tennis – Government Recognition
  • Willoughby Council – Roz Neville
  • Cumberland Council
  • City of Wagga Wagga
  • City of Wollongong
NSW Player of the Year Will be announced on the night

The winner of the NSW Tennis Award will receive:

  • NSW Tennis Award
  • 2019 Sydney International Experience
  • Winners in each category will be selected as the NSW nominee for the equivalent national award if applicable. If the nominee is selected as a finalist for the Australian Tennis Award in their category they will be invited to attend the Newcombe Medal Awards.
  • Winners of the Metropolitan Club of the Year and Country Club of the Year will receive $1000 each to help with the implementation of programs and or upgrades as well as presenting the Trophies at the presentation ceremony for the Men’s and Women’s Singles Finals at the 2019 Sydney International.

The following award categories will not be able to be nominated for the equivalent Australian Tennis Award category and will be announced during the 2018 Sydney International:
NSW Player of the Year, George Fletcher Award (Officiating Excellence) & Jim O’Neill Award (Service to Tennis NSW Award).


Voting Process 

The voting and decision-making process to establish eventual finalists, and the winners, will be conducted by a panel of selectors comprising honorary and paid administrators of Tennis NSW and Tennis Australia and various NSW sporting industry representatives from the likes of the Office of Sport and Recreation (State Government) and any other industry bodies relative to categories.

Requirements of Award Recipients 

Successful nominees may be required to participate in marketing and promotional activities in the 12 months following the award.

Successful nominees in each category will be selected as the NSW nominee for the equivalent national award. If the nominee is selected as a finalist for the Australian Tennis Award in their category they will be invited to attend the Newcombe Medal Awards.

Finalists of the Most Outstanding Club or Centre award may be required to assist in the filming of a short video clip to be shown on the Tennis NSW website and Social Media. The finalists are encouraged to have the club/centre in an active environment with key members of the committee/management and coaching team available to speak. 

Presenting Partner