Tennis Country

The role of Tennis Country is to review the operations of tennis in regional NSW. Tennis Country is made up of six Country Delegates and six Regional Delegates from across the six country regions. Tennis Country provides advice to the Board and management on the sport in regional and rural NSW.

In addition to its structural role supporting tennis in each of the country regions, Tennis Country has also focussed on reviewing Grassroots and Participation programs, events and competitions.  The Committee is also responsible for the NSW Country Championships, Country Week and Country Starz programs.

Tennis Country Management Committee 2014-2016

Independent Chairperson – Wendy Saville

Country Delegates:

Central West – Matt Edward
North East – Doug Wilkinson
North West – Justin Sherriff
Northumberland – Ellen Gordon
South East – Dave Allen

Regional Delgates:

Central West – Michael Swift
North West – Peter Louis
Northumberland – Rob Eldridge
South East – Bronwyn Myers
South West – Garth Quast

Selection Criteria

The Tennis Country Management Committee select teams to represent NSW Country at the Foundation Cup, City vs Country Challenge and other teams events from time to time. Whilst selections are bound by the Tennis NSW Selection Policy Guidelines, the following criteria also relate to country events.

Click here for the criteria.


Tennis Country Management Committee Vacancy – North East Region

A casual vacancy is currently available on the Tennis NSW Tennis Country Management Committee as the Country Delegate for the North East region. Tennis Country is made up of six Country Delegates and six Regional Delegates from across the six county regions. Tennis Country provides advice to the Tennis NSW Board and Management on the sport in regional and rural NSW.

As Country Delegate, you will represent the North East region at Tennis Country workshops twice a year and other meetings, forums and/or teleconferences as necessary. You will also work closely with the TNSW Participation Leader to grow tennis participation in the region.

Interested parties are encouraged to complete the nomination form below and return to Tennis NSW.

Click here for the Nomination form

Click here for the Code of Conduct

Click here for the Tennis Country By Laws

EOIs should be forwarded to Tennis NSW by email (only) to the Tennis NSW Participation Manager – [email protected]

Applications will close September 3, 2017.


Foundation Cup 

The NSW squads for the Foundation Squad to be played in Adelaide from Monday 9 January to Thursday 12 January 2017 have been announced.

Congratulations to:

Girls: Tayla Brasier; Shaylee Martin; Chilee Roland; Jaide Smith

Boys: Lleyton Richards; Jordan Hunter, Will Evans; Lachlan Rook

Managers: Justin Sherriff and Trudi Musgrave-Edwards


Country Starz

Country Starz is a post junior program developed by Tennis NSW’s Tennis Country Management Committee.  The program was created due to a void in country player development for athletes aged 18-22 years.  Tennis Country also acknowledges the need for financial assistance for regional athletes at tournaments and competitions, especially in this age-group.

Tennis NSW, through the Tennis Country Management Committee, has invested significantly into the Country Starz program to assist a team of selected regional players with:

  1. Accommodation, meal subsidy and travel assistance
  2. Management and Coaching at more than four (4) selected regional tournaments, including the NSW Country Tennis Championships
  3. Participation in a Tennis Australia Community Coaching Course

The program is open to players aged between 18 and 22.

Applications are now open for Country Starz athletes and a Country Starz coach for July 2017 – June 2018. Please click on the links below for more information. Applications close June 18, 2017.

Click here for athlete application

Click here for coach application