Murrumbeena Tennis Club

MTC Junior Tennis Teams Update

13 June 2019 |

Section 2 make the finals: Again!

Well done to all four Murrumbeena Junior Tennis Teams who admirably represented our club and competed in this seasons Bayside Regional Tennis Association competitions. 

Congratulations to Section 2 who have again made it through to finals.  The team of Patrick Monteiro, Tess Dabas, Ben Rapaport, Geordie Apostolou, Johny Henguin, and Will Blair have played exceptionally well to finish second on the ladder at the end of seasons fixture.  Good luck in the finals: Go Beena! 

It is worth mentioning that the Section 2 team started the journey off in Spring of 2014 in section 14 and have over the years achieved an incredible record of five wins with one grand final loss out of nine seasons played. Patrick Monteiro. Ben Rapaport, Geordie Apostolou and Sienna Pisano were the initial ‘magic’ team that played together for nearly 4 years. They formed some wonderful relationships and had so much fun. In recent times Jonny Henquin, Tess Dabas and Will Blair joined creating an even stronger team that love to play tennis and will hopefully continue the winning formula creating great friendships and a few more wins.


Development Pathways – Association Junior League Nominations

This month, MTC had the opportunity to select a number of players for possible nomination in Bayside Regional Tennis Association and Moorabbin & Districts Junior Tennis Association’s combined 2019 Associations Junior League (AJL) Competition.  Players accepting nomination have the opportunity of competing against other Metropolitan Tennis Associations (including Peninsula and Barwon) teams in four players per side, singles rubbers (best of two sets) and two doubles rubbers competition.  Murrumbeena is proud to be developing young players and has a great record in recent history with Patrick Monteiro winning the best player award for the District with the highest winning percentage for the last two seasons.

The following players have been recognised by MTC as developing junior players and selected.  Congratulations to Patrick Monteiro, Molly Ritchie, Bella Loke, Thomas Moore, & Bailey Loke for being recognised by the Club as future developing players.

These players then have the opportunity to accept nomination and possible final section in an AJL team or alternatively, players may choose to continue playing for Murrumbeena’s Junior Teams.

Congratulations to all those players selected.