Murrabit Lawn Tennis Club

2018 Results

Murrabit Lawn Tennis Club

72nd Annual Easter Tournament

On a weekend of splendid Easter weather, the Murrabit Lawn Tennis Club hosted their 72nd Annual Easter Tournament.  The tournament was a great success, and the committee were thrilled with the number of entries; 249 people playing over the 3 days.

The courts were looking and playing beautifully, and with the fun social atmosphere, everyone enjoyed either playing or watching great tennis.

For a bit of added fun we like to encourage our competitors to dress-up.  There were some creative and very interesting outfits taking to the courts.  Resulting in many players receiving ‘best-dressed’ prizes.

A huge thank you again to our fantastic sponsors, their contribution is so important to the running of our tournament.  Thanks also to the small but hard working committee who continue to run the tournament each year.


Prizes were awarded to winners and runners-up in each grade.

Friday Singles & Veterans Doubles

Men’s A Grade – Eddy Dickins def. Warren Searle 24-22 games

Men’s Intermediate – Alex Walters def. Jack Burgess 24-22 games

Men’s B Grade – James Lea def. Billy Dafos 6-0

U16 Boys – Liam White def. Shaun Davey 24-19 games

U13 Boys – Lachlan King def. Brodie Hall 18-13 games


Ladies A Grade – Sara McNeil def. Katie Archard 18-13 games

Ladies B Grade – Emma Berg def. Kristi Dafos 6-3

U16 Girls – Phoebe Lea def. Sara Berg 18-15 games

U13 Girls – Jessie Teasdale def. Emmity Hartley 12-6


Veterans – Michelle Noonan 18 games, r/up Kylie Leahy 17 games


Saturday Doubles
Men’s A Grade – Eddy Dickins & Andrew Spitty def. Simon Morton & Brendan Shields 6-4

Men’s Intermediate – Blake Sealey & Ryan Sealey def. Glen Madden & Jamie Martin 6-1

Men’s B Grade – Nick Bourke & Laurie Allen def. Victor Saelens & Andrew Price 6-4

Under 16 Boys – Sebastian Pendlebury & Darcy Pollock (no r/up)

Under 13 Boys – Trinity Starr & Ben Miller def. Levi Archard & Cameron Baker 18-13 games


Ladies A Grade – Angela Morton & Sally McDonald def. Michelle Noonan & Sidney Dyer 18-14 games

Ladies Intermediate – Rose Madden & Denise Sealey def. Maddie Patterson & Erin Monaghan 18-15 games

Ladies B Grade – Lynda Ashcroft & Jo Cahill def. Anne Fuller & Rhian Sealey 6-5

Under 16 Girls – Hayley Forster & Tayla Hird def. Ursula Pendlebury & Sara Berg 23-14 games

Under 13 Girls – Jessie Teasdale & Emmity Hartley def. Belle Morton & Evie Laughlin  6-2


Monday Mixed

A Grade – Denise Sealey & Ryan Sealey def. Michelle Noonan & Guy Taylor 6-3
Intermediate – Blake Sealey & Rhian Sealey def. Jenny Nethercote & Luke Rodgers 6-2
B Grade – Lillian Lea & James Lea def. Billy Dafos & Kristi Dafos 6-3
Under 16 – Sebastian Pendlebury & Phoebe Lea def. Jaymee Rodgers & Beau Camps 18-11 games
Under 13 – Thomas Leahy & Jessie Teasdale def. Brodie Hall & Charli Dafos 18-14 games


Best Dressed  Thank you to Michelle Noonan for once again sponsoring the best-dressed prizes.


Saturday best dressed

Sam Harvey & Phil Coughlan

Shaun Davey & Alex Walters


Also Belle & Evie, Jessie & Emmity, Lynda & Jo, Josh & Rhys, Giles & Ben, Karen & Jan, Olivia & Amber, Erin & Maddie, Phoebe & Kate, Ursula & Sara, Brodie & Lachlan, Thomas & Clancy, Carmel & Lily, Nathan & James


Monday best dressed

Nathan Morrow & Mary Yates-Ward

Josh Morrow & Jasmine Saunders

Jodie Hartley & Dale Hartley


Also Bailey & Sarah, Tim & Sara, Carmel & Tom, Narelle & Steve, Emmity & Clancy, Jessie & Thomas, James & Lilly, Jack & Maddie, Alix & Stephen


Raffle winners

1st Prize – Australian Open Tickets 2018 (Rod Laver Arena) for 2 days and accommodation – won by Neil Teasdale

2nd prize – Tennis racquet kindly donated by Sports Power – Ivan Hill

3rd prize – Gift Hamper supplied by Terry White Pharmacy Kerang – Nateisha Nethercote


Thank you to all our wonderful Sponsors

Major sponsor – Murrabit Trading

Silver Sponsors – Kerang Car wash, KM Bray Building, O’Brien’s Sawmills, Mawsons, Halls Home Hardware

Bronze Sponsors – Arnoldt & Greenwood, Autopro Kerang, AWMA, BJ’s Variety, Border Vet Clinic, Busy Bees of Murrabit, Easy Drive Post Company, Golden Rivers Electrical, Guest’s Auto Electrical, Kerang Electronics, MAA, May Partners, National Herd Development, Ricky Maher Refrigeration, Ruralco Kerang & Rulicifys Gift & Sub-Newsagency

Other Sponsors – Husk Street & Surf, Kerang Terry White Pharmacy, Sports Power Kerang


Yearly Court Sponsors – Murrabit Store & Tavern, Andrew Leahy Earthmoving, Arbuthnot Sawmills, Scott McNeil Electrical, TA & DL Thomson, Jack & Jill Challis, G & M Poly Irrigation, Peter Walsh MP, Arch on Mellool.