

Minutes - Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 1st August, 2017 @ 7.30pm @ Gisborne Tennis Club

1. Meeting opened by Di Devine at 7.30pm.

Present:

Barb Pye Bullengarook

Thea Fitzpatrick Diggers Rest

Kim Bouchier Diggers Rest

Anne Evans Gisborne

Gayle Chapman Gisborne

Belinda Jaques Hanging Rock

Kristine Clement Kilmore

Jenny Elston Kyneton

Rachel Goodwin Lancefield

Jenny Svendsen Macedon

----- Melton South

Judy Unwin Mt Carmel

Beth Girdwood Mt Carmel

Robyn Johnston New Gisborne

Di Devine Riddells Creek

Heather Johnston Riddells Creek

Louise Conlon Romsey

Anna Karopoulos Sth Gisborne

Denise Trevaskis Sth Gisborne

Jane Purcell Sth Gisborne

Kim Styles Sunbury

Marg Burns Sunbury

Aileen Almond Sunbury

Vanessa Ouston Sunbury

Heather Kelly Toolern Vale

Jodie Kreig Toolern Vale

Lauren Roberts Woodend

Jacqui Lowe Woodend

2. <u>Apologies</u>: Jenny Synnott (Melton Sth), Emma Stevens (Lancefield), Sandra Witmitz (Riddells Creek), Viv Wall (Riddells Creek), Emma Brown (Treasurer)

3. Minutes of 2016 AGM: were circulated prior to the meeting

It was moved that the Minutes be accepted.

Moved: Belinda Jaques, Seconded: Heather Kelly Carried

4. Correspondence:

In – The Hub magazine -3 editions from Community Clubs Victoria

Out - Tennis Victoria - Affiliation

5. President's Report:-attached

Di Devine reported that her first year as President .has been an enjoyable, sometimes challenging but mostly rewarding experience

Some key points include-

Organising a fundraiser for Lily De Haas that raised \$1600

Thanks to the Executive Committee and also the Match and Permit Committee for volunteering their time to support MDLTA.

Over the next 12 months focussing on marketing so that our competition continues to thrive.

6. Treasurer's Report: Attached

Emma Brown's report was presented by Di Devine.

Accounts for the financial period 01/07/2016-30/06/2017 were presented and discussed.

They have not yet been audited.

Total Receipts \$ 10,546.61

Total Payments \$ 8,714.40

There was a profit this year of \$ 1,832.21

(It was suggested that the Fundraising money be separated from Raffles for the account audit)

7. <u>Ladder Secretary</u>:

See General Business for improvements suggested by the Ladder Sec.

8. Fixture Secretary:

Jenny Elston reported that things were going smoothly.

Motion: That all the reports be accepted

Moved: Anna Karopoulos Seconded: Jenny Elston Carried

9. Election of Committee:

Di Devine declared all positions vacant. Beth Girdwood presided over the election of the following Executive Committee and Match and Permit members with all being voted in unanimously:

President: Diana Devine Nominated: Emma Brown Seconded: Kim Bouchier

Vice President: Lauren Roberts Nominated: Krissy Clement Seconded: Thea Fitzpatrick

Secretary: Kim Bouchier Nominated: Krissy Clement Seconded: Thea Fitzpatrick

Treasurer: Emma Brown Nominated: Naomi Mc Craw Seconded: Diana Devine

Ladder Secretary: Aileen Almond/Vanessa Ouston Nominated: Marg Burns

Seconded: Kim Styles

Fixture Secretary: Jenny Elston Nominated: Judy Unwin Seconded: Belinda Jaques

*An apprentice Treasurer is required as this will be Emma's last year in this job. Please ask around in your club.

Match & Permit Committee:

Anne Evans	Gisborne (Sect. 2)	Nominated: Judy Unwin	Seconded: Beth Girdwood	
Heather De Mack	Hanging Rock (Sect.4) Nominated: Thea Fitzpatrick	Seconded: Kim Bouchier	
Robyn Johnston	Bullen. (Sect.2)	Nominated: Barbara Pye	Seconded: Anna Karopoulos	
Marg Burns	Sunbury (Sect.4)	Nominated: Aileen Almond	Seconded: Beth Girdwood	
Thea Fitzpatrick	Diggers Rest (Sect.3)	Nominated: Belinda Jaques	Seconded: Kim Bouchier	
Kristine Clement	Kilmore (Sect. 1)	Nominated: Thea Fitzpatrick	Seconded: Belinda Jaques	
Louise Conlan Ro	omsey (Sect.?)	Nominated: Anne Evans	Seconded: Jenny Elston	
[Di Devine resumed the chair]				

10. Outgoing Committee:

Di Devine thanked Rachel for her work as Vice President over the last few years.

11. General Business:

(a) Review of registration fees

Motion: That the fees for this year remain the same.

Moved: Di Devine Seconded: Beth Girdwood Carried

(b) Procedures before forfeiting:

Teams were reminded that there are numerous sources of players that should be followed up before forfeiting-players from your own club,

-other teams in the section with a bye,

- pool players

Requests are more easily communicated via facebook.

Teams anticipating playing in finals need to have a contingency plan in place at least a week before the final (and understand the rules around player eligibility for finals)

(c) Coordinator of Match & Permit Committee:

The Ladder Secretaries propose that there be a coordinator of the M&P committee who can inform the Ladder Secretaries of the committee's decision once they have reached a consensus on any relevant issues.

(d) Amend By-Law 4.9:

Scoresheets are no longer posted to the Ladder Secretary. They are sent electronically , hence the Ladder Secretaries propose amending the deadline to 5pm on the day following the match instead of 5pm on the Friday following the match.

Motion: That....." the home team must forward the scoresheet to the Ladder Secretary by **5pm** on the day following the match "........

Moved: Aileen Almond Seconded: Heather Kelly Carried

(e) Amend By-Law 3.2:

Currently we have teams formed with players from more than one club. To reflect this 3.2 needs to be amended to say that players are a member of "a MDLTA club", not "that club".

Motion: That"no player may be entered into a team unless she is a financial member of a MDLTA club "

Moved: Aileen Almond Seconded: Jenny Svendsen Carried

(f) Modify Team Entry Sheet:

To make the job easier for the Ladder Secretary it was suggested that the team entry form be modified to

- -Delete TVR column
- include MDLTA club
- include a unique name for each team
- include player email addresses (Tennis Scores requires an email address , so better to be the real address that can then be used to communicate eg: total fire ban day . Otherwise the default email can be entered, as presently happens.)

Motion: That these changes be made to the team entry sheet.

Moved: Vanessa Ouston Seconded: Robyn Johnston Carried

(g) Other:

- (i) Website. Ben is to be paid for last season as arranged at the last AGM. From now on Vanessa will update the website voluntarily. Everyone has access to the website so up to date by laws etc will be available there
- (ii) Emergencies can play 2 games without being a club member (subject to your own club rules and insurance situation.)

Meeting closed: 8.34pm