AYC TENNIS ASSOCIATION Est. 1952

70th Anniversary Season

E: <u>ayctas@gmail.com</u> W: tennis.com.au/ayc

<u>Season 2021 – 2022 Newsletter 06</u>

Wednesday, 1 June 2022

Roster 02

All of the finals have now been completed for our second roster, congratulations to those teams and individuals that have tasted success. A complete list of winning teams and the winners of the individual awards is at the end of this newsletter.

All pennant and individual awards will be presented at our annual dinner.

Annual Dinner

We have 131 past and present players and supporters lining up for our 70th Anniversary dinner. This is a fantastic response to this event, hope that you are among them. We are at the capacity for the venue, if you wish to be a late inclusion, please let us know so that if anyone can't make it, we can include those still wishing to go.

If you have any Association / tennis memorabilia that you would be happy to display please reply to this email with details, space is limited but would be good to have a range of items from the 70 years of pennant tennis.

Short Roster Review

As discussed, when confirming the two-roster decision for three seasons commencing in 2020 / 21 the Tournament Committee have had an initial two-year review at their recent meeting. The general consensus is that the near 60% increase in team numbers over the last two seasons points to decision being the correct one. While not suiting everyone the uptake by good numbers of younger players and the return of a number of former players speaks for itself.

The Tournament Committee will make a decision on the future of the two-roster approach at the end of the 2022 / 23 season.

Season 2022 / 2023

While it may seem some way off the Tournament Committee will be meeting over the coming weeks to review Season 21/22, update our grading list, revisit rules, particularly those relating to finals fillins and considering a simplified rule set, plan for an AGM, etc, all in readiness for a new season in 2022 / 2023.

If you have any suggestions for improving the pennant, we would be pleased to hear from you.



Annual General Meeting

We have set a date for the AGM, to be held on Sunday July 17th at a mid afternoon time slot. Venue and exact start time to be advised when confirmed. Along with the usual business of reviewing last season's report, electing officers and setting pennant fees there will be the opportunity to discuss any aspect of the pennant.

We will be needing a new Treasurer as Cheryl is no longer able to take on the role and we are considering splitting the current Secretary's role into an administrative role looking after newsletters, emails, the web site, etc, and a pennant Co Ordinator role looking after the rostering, tennis scores and the app, etc

If you have any interest in these roles please contact us if you have any gueries.

This will be a good opportunity to come along and contribute to the ongoing growth and success of the pennant.

Let me know if you have any queries.

Campbell Palfrey

SECRETARY

Pennant & Individual Winners - Roster 01 Spring 2021 / 22

Division 01 - Team Bourke

Andrew Bourke Aaron Hibberd Ross Casey Scott Lobdale

Consistency – Andrew Bourke (Geilston Bay)

Division 02 - Kingston Vodka

Di Mason Gail Palmer Joe Panetta Patrick Legg

Consistency – Lisa Cameron (Sorell) & Nathan Fuller (Sorell)

Division 03 - Lindisfarne Mako

Henry Schade Ben Walters Brandon Edmonson Patrick Fisher

Consistency – Jane Mitchell (Rosny) & Henry Schade (Lindisfarne)

Division 04 - St Therese's

Ros Williams Fay Ibbott Tom Brereton Stephen Psaila

Consistency – Ros Williams (St Therese's) & Tom Brereton (St Therese's)

Division 05 – Kingston Tequila

Ann Hines Di Carter Jaco Classen Declan Etherington

Consistency – Helen Courtney – Pratt (Sorell) & Allan Pryer (Rosny)

Division X – Sorell Hulk

Hayden Cleaver Shane Webb Geoff Jackson Bill Lethbridge

Consistency – Bill Lethbridge (Sorell)

Pennant & Individual Winners - Roster 02 Summer 2021 / 22

Division 01 - Team Bourke

Andrew Bourke Janaya Smith Karl Gregory Dan Bahr Tom Novakovic

Consistency – Andrew Bourke (Geilston Bay)

Division 02 - Sorell Zeus

Kathryn Thomas Sharon Hibberd Nathan Fuller Jacob Goad

Consistency- Hayley Mason (Geilston Bay) & Kirk Cameron (Sorell)

Division 03 - Kingston Midori

Donna Brown Leanne Fitzpatrick Tony Dikkenberg Michael Moon

Consistency – Leanne Fitzpatrick (Kingston) & Gordon Moon (Kingston)

Division 04 - Sorell Dionysus

Helen Courtney-Pratt Mikayla Fuller Clayton Cowen Daniel Bannister

Consistency – Mikayla Fuller (Sorell) & John Hey (Rosny)

Division 05 - Kingston Frangelico

Elise Gore Ann Hines Jaco Classen Declan Etherington

Consistency – Ann Hines (Kingston) & Jaco Classen (Kingston)

Division 06 - Sunshine Bushfires

Sandra Orth Roslyn Luck Daniel Johnson Michael Devenish

Consistency – Roslyn Luck (Sunshine) & Brendon Scott (Sorell)

Division X1

Hayden Cleaver Geoff Jackson Bill Lethbridge Kirk Cameron Joe Panetta

Consistency – David Carruthers (Sorell)

Division X2 – Lindisfarne Hammerheads

Cameron Stone Tom Hutchinson Calen Jeffery Liam Azzopardi Bryce Crawford

Consistency – Liam Azzopardi (Lindisfarne)

Division X3

David Sproule Dan Goss Jacob Batt Bryce Crawford

Consistency – Bryce Crawford (Lindisfarne)

Doubles Winners

Men's Doubles Kevin Jones & John Hey

Mixed Doubles Di Mason & Gordon Moon