AYC Tennis Association

Annual Report 2019 - 2020

Office Bearers

President: Mike Hodge

Treasurer: Cheryl Lee

Secretary: Campbell Palfrey

Committee

Glenorchy Gary Oswin

Kingston Evelyn van Nimwegen

Rosny Craig Mansbridge

Sunshine Max Crowe

Sorell Stephen Thomas

St Therese's Ros Williams

New Town Jeff Irwin

Taroona Dan Kaimatsoglu

PRESIDENTS REPORT

I am pleased to be able to present the annual report for the season 2019 / 2020.

It has been an interesting season, starting with some robust discussion on the best format for the pennant to progress and Glenorchy losing their lights and finishing with the pennant abandoned as the Coronavirus took over the community.

In between there has been plenty of good tennis played in a sociable environment, congratulations to all of you have experienced some success in a pennant team, in one of our doubles events or perhaps have won an individual award.

This season has seen a trial of playing the AYC Doubles on a Sunday afternoon with sixteen mixed doubles pairs enjoying a good afternoon at the Kingston Tennis Club and an extension of the doubles into two subsequent events, one each at Glenorchy and Rosny. Both have been well supported but would benefit from increased numbers to even out the matches. We will be interested to see if support for these to continue exists for the next season.

Our survey of the Clubs and Players resulted in some fifty one players and four Clubs contributing their thoughts and preferences on what might be best for the Association going

forward. I am hopeful that we can use this information to find an approach that not only maintains support from the existing player base but makes our pennant and other tennis opportunities appealing to a broader group of players.

During the season Geoffrey Dunlop has been helping us with analysis of the results to contribute to the regrading process. While achieving fair and equitable grades that result in good even tennis is a difficult process, particularly with those ladies playing in the male dominated X Divisions, the analysis based on the ITN approach provides an approach that is devoid of emotion and players issues and provides a means for us to compare players that we know well with players that we are less familiar with. This information combined with the player knowledge provided by the Club representatives should help us to reach a reasonable position on changes to players grades. I appreciate the time that Geoffrey has taken to help us with this aspect of the pennant.

I wish to thank all of the Committee members for their input during the season, while numbers are reducing, we have managed to provide well organised tennis for some one hundred and sixty players. As we are effectively the opportunity for all of the southern suburban Clubs to get together regularly the scope may exist for us to better help each other to provide more tennis opportunities for our members.

The recent advertisement to sell the New Town Tennis Club signals the end of another local tennis club, once the home to eight AYC teams New Town remains active and it is important that those players that remain are not lost to either AYC or tennis generally. I am confident that the other Clubs, much like their support for Glenorchy, will be offering a home to anyone displaced at New Town.

In closing I look to the start of the next season, I'm sure there will be a few challenges in getting everyone out of isolation and back into some organised tennis. Some will be hesitant, others will be enthusiastic, our task is to find the best way in which to get them all involved.

I hope to see you on the court during the 2020 / 2021 season.

Mike Hodge

PRESIDENT

FINANCIAL REPORT to June 30 2020

Income & Expenditure Statement	2019/20	2018/19	
Income Received			
Pennant Registrations	\$3,990.00	\$4,375.00	
Pennant Dinner Receipts	\$ -	\$ 360.00	
Total Income For Year	\$3,990.00	\$4,735.00	
Less Expenses			
Pennant Costs			
Advertising/Postage	\$ -	\$ 90.00	
Championship Costs	\$ -	\$ 196.00	
Consistency Awards	\$ 294.00	\$ 265.00	
Pennants	\$ 362.35	\$ 403.40	
Presentation Dinner Expenses	\$ -	\$ 390.00	
Presentations	\$ -	\$ 50.00	
Subscriptions - Tennis Scores Fee	\$ 354.20	\$ 354.20	
	\$1,010.55	\$1,748.60	
Administration Costs			
Admin Support Fee	\$2,000.00	\$1,300.00	
Committee Amenities	\$ 28.65	\$ 298.00	
	\$2,028.65	\$1,598.00	
Total Expenses For Year	\$3,039.20	\$3,346.60	
Net Income For Year	\$ 950.80	\$1,388.40	
Opening Retained Earnings 1/7/2019	\$4,032.99	\$2,644.59	
Add Income for Year	\$ 950.80	\$1,388.40	
Closing Retained Earnings 30/6/2020	\$4,983.79	\$4,032.99	
We have again ended the year with a slightly be	etter financial postion than Is	ast year with an	
ending bank balance of \$4,983.79. There was no	·	-	
rules did not allow this to occur but hopefully 20	0/21 will allow us to get toge	ther again.	
Administration fee of \$2,000 was paid to Campb	ell Palfrey for all his work as	secretary/	
tournament/pennant official for this financial ye	ear. This amount is insignific	ant compared	
to all the time and effort that Campbell has con	ntributed to AYC this year.		
Cheryl Lee			
Treasurer			

Pennant Winners

Sylvia Caviezel (Rosny)

Helen Barrett (Rosny)

Division 05

Pennant Winners					
Division 01		Division X1		Division X2	
Ken Smith (Kingston) Elliot Booth (Glenorchy) Philip Heaton (Geilston Bay) Kevin Mahy (Taroona)		Kingston Driftwood Dan Bahr Phil Emery Rob Hartog Mitchell Garth – Smith		Sunshine Wildfires Brett Stephenson Rob Vernon Wayne Olding Sharon Smith	
Division 01		Division X1		Division X2	
Andrew Bourke (Geilston Bay) Julian Bunda (Taroona) Nick Palfrey (Geilston Bay) Phil Heaton (Geilston Bay)		Rosny Invincibles Mark Erwin Craig Mansbridge Walter Apps Eugene Rosenzweig		Glenorchy Little Penguins James Milne Luke Faulks Santosh Paudel Richard Atkins	
Division 02	Divisio	on 03	Division 04	Division 05	
Kingston Jarrah Joe Panetta Gordon Moon Di Mason Gail Palmer	Kingston Merbou Michael Moon Shane Kew Trish Jay Leanne Fitzpatrick		Rosny Jaguars Robert Mitchell Geoff Allen Jane Mitchell Sylvia Caviezel	Rosny Leopards John Waldock Alan Pryer Helen Barrett Cathryn Sykes	
Consistency Awards Division 01					
			Andrew Bo	urke (Geilston Bay)	
Divison X1 Phil Emery (Kingston) Walter Apps (Rosny)				s (Rosny)	
Division X2 Rob Vernon (Sunshine)			Sert Vitchu (Kingston)		
Division 02 Gina Rodgers (Kingston)		Joe Panetta (Kingston)			
Division 03 Leanne Fitzpatrick (Kingston)			Martin Gay (Geilston Bay)		
Division 04					

Bruce Evans (New Town)

Allan Pryer (Rosny)