# **AYC Tennis Association**

ANNUAL REPORT
Presented at
Annual General Meeting

Monday 17<sup>th</sup> June 2019

2018/19

### LIFE MEMBERS

Mr Campbell Palfrey (2012) Mrs Ros Williams (2017) Mr Mike Hodge (2016)

**PREVIOUS LIFE MEMBERS** 

Mr John Drake Mr Eric Wolfe
Mr Ean Cannell Mrs Wilma Palfrey
Mrs Neesie Petersen Mr Colin Appleton
Mr Ray Thompson Mr Alan Walker

**OFFICE BEARERS & COMMITTEE** 

Immediate Past President Mike Hodge Secretary Beth Kennelly Mike Hodge

**Match & Tournament Committee** 

Evelyn Van Nimwegen Kingston
Max Crowe Sunshine
Gary Oswin Glenorchy
Daniel Kaimatsoglu Taroona
Walter Apps New Town
Ros Williams St Therese's

Craig Mainsbridge Rosny
Craig Edwards Sorell

PARTICIPATING CLUBS

Geilston Bay Tennis Club Glenorchy Tennis Club

De Bomford Lane, Geilston Bay 0418100751 Alcorso Drive, Berriedale 62498213

Kingston Tennis Club Taroona Tennis Club

Kingston View Drive, Kingston 6229 1732 Taroona 6227 8281

New Town Tennis Club
Sunnyside Road, New Town
6228 0965
Sunshine Tennis Club
Howrah Road, Howrah
62473563

Rosny Park Tennis Club St Therese's Tennis Club

Bastick Street, Rosny 62445650 2 Davies Ave, Domain

Sorell Tennis Club 62651856

Pelham St, Sorell

# **Immediate Past Presidents Report**

The season commenced after a lot of help from Lisa McKay and Campbell Palfrey who assisted the committee setting up the draw. All members of the committee assisted with the process and we fielded 7 divisions. The numbers were about the same as last year with 152 players taking to the courts. The captains were instructed at the captains meeting about the lodging of their weekly scores onto the Tennis Scores web site.

This year we again played the Division 1 matches on Wednesday nights at Geilston Bay. They held a short roster before Christmas and another after Christmas. Most players in Div 1 played both rosters. Div 1 is non-gender specific. The end result was good and a lot of close tennis was played.

The X1 and X2 roster was run on similar lines to Div 1.

Our newly appointed President resigned from her role after a very good start to the year. Lisa's contribution as President and many other roles was appreciated by the committee.

The Championships were well attended and we thank those who participated and the Clubs who hosted these events. They were organised by Campbell Palfrey and Lisa with help from the committee.

The End of Season Awards night function was held at the Glenorchy Tennis Club and was well attended with 39 guests and an enjoyable night was had. My thanks go to Gary Oswin and his helpers for hosting the event and ensuring we all had a good time.

The new Sportsmanship Award was presented to Carolyn Unsworth of the Geilston Bay Tennis Club for the many years she has played for her club and the AYC competition.

I'd like to thank our sponsors Stewart from Stringlab and Tennis Tasmania for their support again this season. They donated prizes to our lucky door prize at end of season function. We have parted ways from the Old Woolstore as a sponsor as the value was not there for them or us.

Thank you to the committee who met on a regular basis to ensure that we all had a competition in which to play. Going forward I hope that we can welcome some new members to the committee to ensure the longevity of our Association.

The AGM will discuss the way forward in season 19/20.

Mike Hodge Immediate Past President

## **AYC Consistency Awards 2018/19**

	MALE	FEMALE
Div 1 Rd 1	Nick Palfrey	
Div 1 Rd 2	Dan Bahr	
Div 2	Mitchell Garth-Smith	Caroline Wright
Div 3	Paul Herczykowski	Jane Mitchell
Div 4	Paul Muia	Tamara Arthur
Div 5	Al Olaco	Tayla McIllwain
Div X1 Rd 1	Mark Vuong	
Div X1 Rd 2	Phil Emery	
Div X2 Rd 1	Scott Lancaster	
Div X2 Rd 2	James Heyward	

### **Grand Final Matches 2018/19**

Div 1 Rd 1 Nick Wise Team def Sorell One

Div 1 Rd 2 Andrew Bourke Team def Nick Wise Team

**Div 2 The Amazons def Geilston Bay Wombats** 

**Div 3 Rosny Tigers def Glenorchy Shearwaters** 

**Div 4 Geilston Bay Emus def Kingston Linkin Mixed Nuts** 

**Div 5 Glenorchy Tawny Owls def Kingston Almonds** 

Div X1 Rd 1 Taroona Dolphins def Sunshine Fireballs

Div X1 Rd 2 New Town X Men def Rosny Rogues

Div X2 Rd 1 St Therese's Mid Court Crisis def Rosny Pirates

Div X2 Rd 2 Taroona Sharks def Geilston Bay Kookaburras

# **Championship Winners 2018-19 Season**

#### **Mixed Doubles**

Winners – Group 1	Tom Brereton and Ros Williams
Winners – Group 2	Tony Heinonen and Lisa McKay

#### **Mens Doubles**

Winners - Group 1	Julian Bunda and Andrew Bourke
Winners - Group 2	Max Crowe and Bill Lethbridge
Winners - Group 3	John McKay and Hendry Lukman

#### **Ladies Doubles**

Winners	Julie Fletcher and Evelyn McLeod
---------	----------------------------------

## **AYC Sportsmanship Award**

The inaugural winner of the AYC Tennis Association Sportsmanship Award was Carolyn Unsworth of the Geilston Bay Tennis Club. Carolyn received the award for her long association with various tennis clubs and the AYC competition.

### TREASURERS REPORT

FINANCIALS	2018/19	2017/17
Balance carried forward	\$ 2,644.59	\$ 3,239.04
Pennant		
Receipts	<b>.</b>	<b>4 5 6 6 6</b>
Registrations	\$ 4,375.00	\$ 5,200.00
Presentation dinner receipts	\$ 360.00 \$ 0.00	\$ 1,465.00
Raffle		\$ 184.00 \$ 0.00
Interest	\$ 0.00	\$ 0.00
Sub Total	\$ 7,379.59	\$10,088.04
Expenses		
Grading Days / Room Hire	\$ 0.00	0.00
Postage / Advertising	\$ 90.00	\$ 275.62
Presentations	\$ 50.00	\$ 35.00 \$ 368.00 \$ 235.00
Tennis Scores Fees	\$ 354.20	\$ 368.00
Consistency Awards	\$ 265.00	\$ 235.00
Presentation dinner expenses	\$ 390.00	\$ 2,650.86 \$ 227.35
Pennants	\$ 403.40	
Division 1 Comp	\$ 0.00 \$ 90.00 \$ 50.00 \$ 354.20 \$ 265.00 \$ 390.00 \$ 403.40 \$ 0.00 \$ 0.00 \$ 1,300.00 \$ 298.00	\$ 1,404.00 \$ 0-00 \$ 1,400.00 \$ 200.00
Scorebooks	\$ 0.00	\$ 0-00
Admin support	\$ 1,300.00	\$ 1,400.00
Committee Amenities		
Championships	\$ 196.00	\$ 647.62
Sub Total	\$ 3,346.60	\$ 7,443.45
Balance carried forward	\$ 4,032.99	\$ 2,644.59

We have ended the year in a better position than last with an end balance of \$4,032.99 The difference between Registrations from 17/18 and 18/19 was that we only received the actual registration fees for players in Div 1. As such we did not have to pay for Div 1 to play at GBTC to cover lights, court hire and balls.

The Presentation function was held at the Glenorchy Tennis Club and was enjoyed by 39 players and their guests. Life members Campbell Palfrey, Ros Williams and Mike Hodge were in attendance and their entry fee was paid by the AYC. The net cost of the dinner was \$30 (Life members) compared to \$1,185.86 last year.

Campbell Palfrey provided support for both the Championships and the setting up of the initial draws and the second short draws in Tennis Scores. We paid Campbell \$300 for his services. Other members of the Executive committee received \$1,000 for admin services.

Mike Hodge Treasurer