

www.tennis.com.au/ayc

June 2017

President: Mike Hodge Secretary: Beth Wisniewski

email ayctas@gmail.com

### MINUTES - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING - 26th June 2017

#### Present.

Beth Kennelly, John McKay, Lisa McKay, Mike Hodge, Daniel Kaimatsoglu, Harry Crowe, Maxwell Crowe, Steve Thomas, David Frost, John Fletcher, Campbell Palfrey, Dianne Fincke, Ros Williams, Allan Walker, Paul Kitchener, Di Horne, Ann Hines, Leanne Fitzpatrick, Lisa Bowerman, Leslie Frost, Gus Eyre and Trish Jay

The meeting was opened at 7-30pm by Mike Hodge and members were welcomed to the 2017 AYC Annual General Meeting.

#### **Item 1. Apologies:**

Fay Ibbott, Scott Lancaster and Pam Whelan

#### **Item 2. Confirmation of Previous Minutes**

The minutes of the last AGM were made available on <a href="www.tennis.tas.com.au/ayc">www.tennis.tas.com.au/ayc</a> copies were also available to view at the AYC AGM

A motion that the minutes be accepted was moved by Ros Williams and seconded by Dianne Fincke. The motion was **carried.** 

#### **Item 3.** Business arising from previous minutes

It was noted at the AYC AGM 2016 that it may be preferable to have a different Person for the position of President and Treasurer. Lisa McKay was nominated as Treasurer at the first delegates meeting – this change of executive position was published in the first Pre-Season newsletter for 2016/17 season.

#### **Item 4. Adoption of Annual Report**

Copies of the Annual Report for 2016/17 were made available at the meeting. A copy will also be placed on the AYC Website.

A motion to adopt the Annual Report was moved by Mike Hodge and seconded by Campbell Palfrey. The motion was **carried.** 

Page **1** of **5** 



www.tennis.com.au/ayc

June 2017

#### **Item 5.** Adoption of the Treasurer's Report

The AYC bank account shows a healthy balance a little less than last year. The AYC Committee agreed to look closely at the subsidy made at the Annual AYC Presentation dinner for 2018. The end of season dinner was once again subsidised by \$20 each player for 2017. A motion to adopt the Treasurer's Report was moved by Lisa McKay and seconded by Dianne Fincke. The motion was carried.

#### <u>Item 5a Presentation of a Life Member</u>

Life membership has been awarded to Ros Williams of the St Therese's tennis club. Ros has been involved with her club and the AYC over many years. She first played at the age of 13 and was involved in the Mid-week pennant from the age of 19. Ros has been involved in all areas of her club both as a player and on the committee. She has received both the John Drake and the Eric Wolfe trophies for her services to the AYC and her club involvement. Ros has been on the AYC committee over a long period taking on the role of Treasurer in 2010/11. Ros is a Life Member of St Therese's. The committee as a whole nominated Ros to be a Life Member of the AYC in recognition of her long and distinguished service.

#### **Item 6. Election of Office Bearers**

Position	Nomination	Moved by	Seconded by	Result
President	Mike Hodge	Lisa McKay	Beth Kennelly	Elected unopposed
Secretary	Beth Wisniewski	Max Crowe	Lisa McKay	Elected unopposed
Treasurer	Lisa McKay	Mike Hodge	Beth Kennelly	Elected unopposed

#### Item 7. Election of Match & Tournament Committee

Nomination	Moved by	Seconded by	Result
Dianne Fincke	Beth Kennelly	Max Crowe	Elected unopposed
John Fletcher	Beth Kennelly	Max Crowe	Elected unopposed
Lisa McKay	Mike Hodge	Beth Kennelly	Elected unopposed
Stephen Thomas	Mike Hodge	Beth Kennelly	Elected unopposed
Maxwell Crowe	Mike Hodge	Lisa McKay	Elected unopposed
Dan Kaimatsoglu	Lisa McKay	Beth Kennelly	Elected unopposed
Trish Jay	Chris Cohen	Lisa Bowerman	Elected unopposed

It was agreed that further club delegates can be added to the committee in line with AYC rules. Noted that Ros Williams to remain the contact for St Therese's but not a committee member



www.tennis.com.au/ayc

June 2017

#### **Item 8. Determination of Administration Fees**

Secretarial Fee set at \$2000.00. Moved by Lisa McKay Seconded John Fletcher. Any claims for payment to be agreed to by the Committee following any committee member performing duties over and above their role. The motion was **carried.** 

#### **Item 9. Proposed motions/rule changes**

No rule changes put forward to the AYC Committee prior to the AGM.

It was noted rule changes may occur as a response to the changes to Division One and Division X playing format and procedures. Rule changes would be presented at the Captains Meeting on Monday the 4<sup>th</sup> of September 2017

#### **Item 10. Determination of Pennant Dates & Fees**

- a) Registration Fee Closing date for pennant entries Lisa McKay proposed for one pennant \$25 and for two pennants \$15 each – seconded by Mike Hodge
  Motion passed by show of hands in majority
- **b)** Closing date for Pennant entries Friday Aug the 11th
- c) Dates for grading nights Thursday the 27<sup>th</sup> July at Geilston Bay and Tuesday the 1<sup>st</sup> August at Kingston and Wednesday 2<sup>nd</sup> of August at Glenorchy 7.00pm for 7.30 start
- **d)** Date for Captains meeting Monday the 4<sup>th</sup> of September venue "The Old Woolstore".
- e) Dates for Championships Mixed; Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> Sept. at Geilston Bay Ladies Doubles; Thursday 7<sup>th</sup> Sept at Kingston and Mens Doubles; Thurs 7<sup>th</sup> Sept at Glenorchy

#### **Item 11. General Business**

#### **Scoring System**

To make the scoring procedure simpler than the one adopted in the 2016/17 the following scoring system was agreed upon at the AYC AGM June 26<sup>th</sup> 2017 "Tennis Scores" to remain the program used by the AYC.

Mike Hodge noted that an App will be made available to use by Captains to enter results. Discussion was had whether hard copy score sheets were still required – decision made that hard copies are required to cross check on games that may not have been entered correctly.



www.tennis.com.au/ayc

June 2017

#### Scoring System for Season 2017/18

2 points for each set won

2 point for each super tiebreak won

4 points awarded to the overall winning team of the night

#### For partial washouts

Points allocated accordingly for sets completed Points for un-played sets shared 2 points awarded to each team

#### Washouts

Share the 12 points Share the 4 points allocated to winning team 8 points for each team on the night

#### **Division One**

The AYC Committee sent out recommendations to clubs and players about the format for Division One for the season 2017/18. Open discussion from the floor occurred at the AYC AGM 2017. The following format and procedures were agreed upon at the AGM.

Non-gender Open grades Non-Club based 4 players

Play format – 1&3 2&4

1&2 (2 sets) Super Tie Break 3&4 (2 sets) Super Tie Break

Short Pennant up to Christmas – finals determined by the number of players submitted by clubs. AYC Committee to organise pennant post-Christmas.

Teams might need to be allocated a number and that number corresponds to a club to determine a home night. This will considered by the committee once we have players nominated.



www.tennis.com.au/ayc

June 2017

### **Division X**

The AYC Committee sent out recommendations to clubs and players about the format for Division X for the season 2017/18. Open discussion from the floor occurred at the AYC AGM 2017. The following format and procedures were agreed upon at the AGM.

Non-gender Capped at 6.0 ITN Club based 4 players

Play format – Play with everyone. Decided by a show of hands in the majority

1&2 3&4 1&3 2&4 1&4 2&3

One or Two pennants at the discretion of the AYC Committee according to teams submitted by clubs.

### **All other Divisions**

2 Men / 2 Ladies Club Based One pennant

Play format - 2 mixed

2 ladies 2 mens

(with super tie breaks)

Meeting closed 9.03 pm.