The Tennis for Primary Schools workshop is a 3 hour practical workshop suitable for all teachers interested in delivering tennis in schools. Participants will have the opportunity to practice a range of activities specifically designed for large groups of students from Foundation to Year 7 and 8. Differentiated learning that caters for the developmental readiness and individual needs of all students within a limited playing area using modified equipment will be emphasised throughout the workshop.

The Game Sense Approach – which is central to the Australian Sports Commission’s sporting philosophy of Playing for Life – will also highlight the concepts of ‘play with purpose’ to develop the technical motor skills and tactical decision-making skills of tennis as complimentary pairs. This involves guided play using questions to shape, focus and make visible student learning, the deliberate modification of task and environmental constraints to meet learning needs of the students at different stages of game development and as a tool to create the right challenge point for students during practice.

 

Cost: Free!

Time: 3 hours

Date Time State  Type Venue Register
Monday, 6 February 2017 9am – 12pm QLD Primary Schools Edge Hill State School, Cairns Register
Wednesday, 8 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools Warwick District Tennis Association, Warwick Register
Wednesday, 8 February 2017 4:30 – 7:30pm WA Primary Schools State Tennis Centre, Burswood Register
Thursday, 9 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools St George State School, St George Register
Friday, 10 February 2017 9am – 12pm QLD Primary Schools Somerset College, Gold Coast Register
Friday, 10 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools Goondiwindi Register
Monday, 13 February 2017 9am – 3pm QLD Primary Schools Queensland Tennis Centre, Tennyson, Brisbane Register
Monday, 20 February 2017 9am – 12pm QLD Primary Schools Toowoomba Register
Tuesday, 21 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools Dalby State School, Dalby Register
Wednesday, 22 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools Roma State College, Roma Register
Thursday, 23 February 2017 3:30pm – 6:30pm QLD Primary Schools Charleville Register
Thursday, 23 February 2017 4pm – 7:30pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools Horsham Lawn Tennis Club, Horsham Register
Thursday, 23 February 2017  5pm – 8pm NSW Primary School Sydney Olympic Park, Sydney Register
Tuesday, 28 February 2017 9am – 3pm QLD Primary Schools St Thomas More Primary School, Sunshine Beach Register
Saturday, 18 March 2017 9am – 2pm QLD Get Active Queensland Accreditation Program North Coast Register
Tuesday, 21 March 2017 12pm – 3pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools National Tennis Centre, Melbourne Park Register
Wednesday, 22 March 2017 12pm – 3pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools Sale Tennis Club, Sale Register
Friday, 31 March 2017 9am – 12pm QLD Primary Schools Townsville Register
Wednesday, 17 May 2017 4:30pm – 7:30pm SA Primary Schools Memorial Drive Tennis Centre, Adelaide Register
Tuesday, 20 June 2017 12pm – 3pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools Burnt Bridge Tennis Club, Ringwood Register
Wednesday, 28 June 2017 4:30pm – 7:30pm WA Primary Schools State Tennis Centre, Burswood Register
Tuesday, 12 September 2017 12pm – 3pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools Essendon Tennis Club, Essendon Register
Wednesday, 13 September 2017 4:30pm – 7:30pm WA Secondary Schools State Tennis Centre, Burswood Register
Monday, 16 October 2017 9am – 2pm QLD Get Active Queensland Accreditation Program Brisbane North Register
Thursday, 7 December 2017 9am – 2pm QLD Get Active Queensland Accreditation Program Brisbane West Register
Tuesday, 12 December 2017 12pm – 3pm VIC Primary & Secondary Schools National Tennis Centre, Melbourne Park Register
 If you would like to host a workshop in your region, please get in touch with us via [email protected]

ACHPER-Logo-web

 

 

 

Tennis Australia are a proud partner of the Australian Council for Health, Physical Education and Recreation (ACHPER)

There are Tennis for Schools sessions at ACHPER conferences. Registration for these events is directly through ACHPER. We will also have a trade display so come say hello and ask any questions you may have!