Tennis NSW

Asia-Pacific Tennis League


2012 was the inaugrual year of the Asia-Pacific Tennis League. The league was supported by a combined NSW/ACT conference of which three teams, ATP Sydney (men), Asia-Pacific Tennis Institute Steelers (women) and Canberra Velocity (women) made the final in Melbourne during the Australian Open.

In 2013 NSW/ACT was again represented by three teams; Canberra Velocity (men and women) and the Stanmore Wyverns (women) made their debut down at the Australian Open.

In 2014, saw Manly Waves win the men’s conference whilst Cabnerra Velocity women defended their title.

 The league, heralded as one of the most innovative competitions to come to Australia, provides athletes the opportunity to play in a team environment similar to the U.S College and European club system.

The Asia- Pacific Tennis League was successfully piloted in South Australia, Western Australia and Victoria in 2011 as a national league and allowed those professional and semi-professional players to compete for their club. Matthew Ebden (WA) and Luke Saville (SA) both competed last year, which provided both players a solid lead up to this year’s Australian summer of tennis.

The Asia -Pacific Tennis League will combine some of NSW/ACT best players to compete for their club. From five ties, the two winning teams will participate in the final of the Asia-Pacific Tennis League in January during the second week of the 2013 Australian Open, against teams from New Zealand, Pacific Islands and Asia.

For further information on the Asia-Pacific Tennis League please click here.